New Jazz-CD „The Berlin Nightbirds“

Wolfgang Mitschke

In the summer of 2005, Wolfgang Mitschke appeared in Jazz magazines for the first time with Jazz masters such as Albert Mangelsdorff, Charlie Mariano, and Don Friedmann and became known to a wider audience with his Fusion Jazz record “Night Over Berlin,” published by SKIP-Records. A stylistically similar album with the title “Midnight Moods” was also released by SKIP in the summer of 2008. On these albums, Wolfgang Mitschke already understood to organically employ the technical possibilities “single-handledly” with perfectly sampled sounds of the piano, e-piano, bass, rhythm guitar, strings, and the drum in such a way to produce a full sound impression.

The recently completed transition to the world-renowned NAXOS record label is a new challenge for Wolfgang Mitschke. With “The Berlin Nightbirds,” the rather publicity shy jazz pianist from Bonn, Germany, presents a new jazz album after an extended creative break. Standards of the Great American songbooks represent the lion’s share on this CD’s playing time. What is astonishing here are the tenacious musical interpretations of well-known titles such as “Manhã de Carnaval,” “Blue Monk,” or “Bye bye Bluebird.” It becomes quickly clear that a musical aesthete is at work, demonstrated especially by the improvisations. Exciting narratives are revealed by pure joy of playing since it is not important to play as many sounds as possible but the correct ones: The “Piano-Lines” by Wolfgang Mitschke in “The Berlin Nightbirds” always appear charming and light-footed, which makes you want to listen. Just as the albums published so far, the new album contains several of his own compositions, among others, the song “Midnight Piano” and the title song “The Berlin Nightbirds.” Wolfgang Mitschke combines elements of pop music, rhythm and blues, and Fusion Jazz in order to achieve the most catchy form of crossover jazz.

The jazz pianist from Bonn, Germany, describes himself as a self-taught artist: “I have been interested in jazz since childhood but never attended a university, instead always took advantage of private encounters with different musicians to find my musical orientation. The original starting point was the Jazz drums. Then, curiosity lead me to a different main instrument, the keyboards, which I essentially taught myself to play in private lessons. I am pleased to be able to publish my album “The Berlin Nightbirds” with NAXOS.”

Wolfgang Mitschke plays Piano and Keyboards; Bass Programming and Drum Programming, Additional Keyboard Programming, additional Guitar Programming, additional String Programming by Wolfgang Mitschke

Produced by Wolfgang Mitschke
Executive Producer: Parida Wali

Special Thanks to Christoph Bette, Elmar Gillet, Bernd Krickel, Peter Ehlert, Anett Albrecht, Matthias Lutzweiler, Parida Wali, Catarina Mrenes and the whole team of NAXOS, Petra Johnson, Wolfgang Lingemann, Russell Ferrante (Yellow Jackets), Tom Schuman (Spyro Gyra), Fritz Pauer (ORF-Big-Band Wien), Jan Lundgren, Iiro Rantala and the legendary Joe Sample for inspiring me in playing piano, Joannis Josifidis and the whole Team of Ristorante Nea Olympia for good meals over all the years.

Order at amazon

Order at jpc

Wolfgang Mitschke on Wikipedia (German)

Listen to Wolfgang Mitschke on Spotify

Berlin Nightbirds von Wolfgang Mitschke

Berlin Nightbirds von Wolfgang Mitschke - Rückseite

Berlin Nightbirds von Wolfgang Mitschke - Rückseite

Photo taken while recording at Mango-Studios in Cologne
October 2018

Neue Jazz-CD „The Berlin Nightbirds“

Wolfgang Mitschke

Im Sommer 2005 tauchte Wolfgang Mitschke mit Jazz-Größen wie Albert Mangelsdorff, Charlie Mariano und Don Friedmann erstmals in Jazz-Zeitschriften auf und wurde mit seinem zusammen mit dem Saxofonisten Jürgen Dietz bei SKIP-Records veröffentlichten Fusion-Jazz-Album „Night Over Berlin“ einem breiteren Publikum bekannt. Einzelnen Titeln dieses Albums gelang auch die Aufnahme in diverse Pop-Sampler. Ein stilistisch ähnliches Album mit dem Titel „Midnight Moods“ erschien im Sommer 2008 wiederum zusammen mit dem Saxofonisten Jürgen Dietz ebenfalls bei SKIP. Auf diesen Alben verstand Wolfgang Mitschke es bereits bisher, unter Nutzung der technischen Möglichkeiten im „Alleingang“ mit perfekt gesampelten Sounds das Piano und das E-Piano, den Bass, die Rhythmusgitarre, die Streicher und das Schlagzeug so organisch einzusetzen, dass ein rundes Klangbild entstand.

Der jetzt vollzogene Wechsel zu dem weltbekannten NAXOS-Label ist für Wolfgang Mitschke eine neue Herausforderung. Mit „The Berlin Nightbirds“ legt der eher öffentlichkeitsscheue Bonner Jazzpianist und Jazzschlagzeuger nach einer langen schöpferischen Kunstpause wieder ein neues Jazz-Album vor. Standards des Great American Songbook bilden auf dieser CD den Löwenanteil der Spielzeit. Hier überrascht die Eigenwilligkeit bei der Interpretation von bekannten Titeln wie „Manhã de Carnaval“, „Blue Monk“ oder „Bye bye Blackbird“. Schnell wird klar, dass hier ein musikalischer Ästhet am Werk ist, was sich insbesondere in den Improvisationen zeigt. Hier gibt es spannende Erzählung mit viel Spielfreude, denn es kommt nicht darauf an, möglichst viele Töne zu spielen, sondern die Richtigen: Die „Piano-Lines“ von Wolfgang Mitschke auf „The Berlin Nightbirds“ wirken immer charmant und leichtfüßig, was Lust zum Zuhören macht. Wie schon bei den bisher veröffentlichten Alben enthält auch das neue Album einige Eigenkompositionen, hier u.a. den Song „Midnight Piano“ und den Titelsong „The Berlin Nightbirds“. Dabei verbindet Wolfgang Mitschke Elemente von Pop-Musik, Rhythm & Blues und Fusion-Jazz, um eine möglichst eingängige Form von Crossover-Jazz zu erzeugen.

Der Bonner Jazzpianist und Jazzschlagzeuger bezeichnet sich selbst als Autodidakten: „Ich habe mich seit meiner Kindheit für Jazz interessiert, aber nie den Weg in eine Hochschule gesucht, sondern immer die private Begegnung mit unterschiedlichen Musikern genutzt, um mich musikalisch zu orientieren. Ursprünglicher Ausgangspunkt war das Jazzschlagzeug. Danach führte mich meine Neugierde zu einem anderen Hauptinstrument, den Keyboards, deren Beherrschung ich mir nach Einzelunterricht im Wesentlichen autodidaktisch erschlossen habe. Ich freue mich, mein Album „The Berlin Nightbirds“ bei NAXOS veröffentlichen zu können.“

Wolfgang Mitschke plays Piano and Keyboards; Bass Programming and Drum Programming, Additional Keyboard Programming, additional Guitar Programming, additional String Programming by Wolfgang Mitschke

Produced by Wolfgang Mitschke
Executive Producer: Parida Wali

Special Thanks to Christoph Bette, Elmar Gillet, Bernd Krickel, Peter Ehlert, Anett Albrecht, Matthias Lutzweiler, Parida Wali, Catarina Mrenes and the whole team of NAXOS, Petra Johnson, Wolfgang Lingemann, Russell Ferrante (Yellow Jackets), Tom Schuman (Spyro Gyra), Fritz Pauer (ORF-Big-Band Wien), Jan Lundgren, Iiro Rantala and the legendary Joe Sample for inspiring me in playing piano, Joannis Josifidis and the whole Team of Ristorante Nea Olympia for good meals over all the years.

Jetzt bei amazon bestellen

Jetzt bei jpc bestellen

Wolfgang Mitschke auf Wikipedia

Viele Songs von Wolfgang Mitschke können Sie auch auf Spotify hören

CD des Monats Juni 2020 bei Naxos
Berlin Nightbirds von Wolfgang Mitschke

Berlin Nightbirds von Wolfgang Mitschke - Rückseite

Berlin Nightbirds von Wolfgang Mitschke - Rückseite

Studioaufnahme im Regieraum 2 der Kölner Mango-Studios
Oktober 2018